PauloMacro’s Substack
PauloMacro’s Substack Podcast
My Discussion with Kontrarian Korner
0:00
-1:11:17

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of PauloMacro’s Substack

My Discussion with Kontrarian Korner

Macro frameworks, oil, copper, platinum, and more...
2

My pal

of the Kontrarian Korner hosted me for a conversation yesterday on his podcast that I wanted to share with you. Summarizing some key points here:

Frameworks:

  • How developed markets increasingly behave like emerging markets, and what this means for finding opportunities.

  • Looking for sectors or commodities “going to sleep” or becoming invisible.

  • How positioning, sentiment, and narrative impact my process.

  • Why sometimes there is no clear way to express the trade in certain situations.

Oil:

  • Why offshore oil services names have been weak and may take the market some time to digest.

  • My experience with Weatherford (WFRD) common and warrants, and why I am waiting on the Valaris (VAL) warrants.

  • Tidewater (TDW) and and recent insider selling.

  • Why the Canadian oil sands are an interesting space to look for opportunities.

Copper:

  • M&A as a potential source of opportunities in the copper space.

  • The potential bear case if the electrification narrative doesn’t play out.

Platinum:

  • An interesting opportunity, but challenges in finding the correct expression.

Sundry:

  • Book & movie mentions.


Disclaimer: As usual, nothing mentioned in our discussion or on my Substack should be considered financial advice, and is meant as a discussion for feedback purposes only as it reflects my own thoughts and market views which are subject to change, and nothing more. Please read my full disclaimer at the button on the bottom.


My thanks to BR for a great conversation… hope you enjoy it!

As always, kindly yours,

Paulo aka Cloudbear

This post is for paid subscribers

PauloMacro’s Substack
PauloMacro’s Substack Podcast
My thoughts on global macro, micro, and everything in between